First impressions always count

I’ve got my bag packed, lunch made, and coiffed my appearance into a semblance of order, and yet still there is that niggling doubt in the back of my mind that I’ve forgotten something… Have I researched the company well enough? What if I say something daft?

“Its ridiculous really”, my long-suffering partner informs me as he continues to yawn into his coffee. Annoyingly perhaps, he’s right. I’ve always been an over-planner, especially when I am excited about something. I enjoy working to deadlines and I enjoy making plans – you know, the kind with multiple highlighted and italicised sections.

Luckily, after focusing on gaining Comms and PR experience over the past year, I am now able to truly sate my organisational cravings by undertaking an MSc in Advertising and PR Management at De Montfort University. A fact which may or may not mean that I currently have numerous notebooks and planners as well as text books stacked on my desk.

So, to celebrate the milestone of having a mere 2 weeks to go until classes start, I have bitten the bullet and created this blog. As an amateur fanatic rather than a seasoned professional, it is a work in progress. In addition to original features and reviews of relevant copy and campaigns in PR, advertising and marketing, it will also hopefully provide an amusing and (ideally) interesting insight into the ups and downs experienced on my journey through this industry.

That journey starts with what will prove to be the first of many steps I hope to take now that I have returned to Leicester, namely a two week internship with Hopwood PR – an agency I have admired since becoming aware of them in 2011. Two weeks being exposed to working with clients in the NFP and public sectors as well as campaigning; I can’t wait.

Don’t worry though, I’ve got a long list of posts lined up, so you’ll be sure to regularly have the chance for a latte and a laugh.

Leave a Reply

