Expanding the boundaries of my content

Earlier today I was browsing this blog (reminiscing as you do) and I realised something…

For all my posts on strategic branding, or the way a bikini can help explain brand integrity, or the multitude of cheat sheets (like this one and this one) I’ve created, I’d forgotten one important thing; I wasn’t really showing my readers all of my interests. Or at the very least, (barring politics) I wasn’t showing them clearly enough.

I mean sure, people might be able to guess from my post on The Rock’s personal branding strategy that I’m into wrestling (and WWE in particular) and the personas that garner so much screaming attention.

They might even have twigged from my using rats to talk about reputation management that I have two grabby-handed monsters of my own (though the picture probably helped).

But they – by which I really mean You – might not realise how interested I am in:

  • creative design (particularly when it comes to architecture, typography and modern art),
Reverse graffiti is amazing!!!

                                    Reverse graffiti is amazing!!!

  • science & tech (because with the advancements and discoveries we are currently making how could anyone not be?)

189701-This-Week-In-Science-13th-19th-July-2015

  • animals,
  • and food (and not just because the animals make the food).

I also have a penchant for stationary (perhaps because of my interest in typology?) and a love of cafes – there’s just something about sitting in a quiet corner with the hustle and bustle going on around you, isn’t there?

Don’t mistake me, I know all too well the importance of “having a niche” when blogging. I’m sure we’re all are interested in PR or communications (in some way or another) so of course that is (and always will be) the core of all my content, but to be honest, I don’t fit snugly into any specific niche and neither do my readers.

So, the point of this post is that I’m rectifying that and am considering expanding my content focus a wee bit beyond its current boundaries. Whether it works or not will have to be seen but its going to be an interesting experiement nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

